Stephen Brett


  • Monday 04 Dec; h13.30 - h14.45; England Room 
    Session 02: ICU decision-making - A global round table: 'ICU decision-making: A global ethics round table'

  • Monday 04 Dec; h15.30 - h16.45;  Northern Ireland Room
    Session 10: Physical rehab - how to do it: Chairing

  • Tuesday 05 Dec; h09.40 - h10.05 (20 min + 5Q&A); Scotland Room
    Session 15: How I manage…- 'Right heart failure and pulmonary hypertension in the ICU'

  • Tuesday 05 Dec; h14.00 - h15.15; Northern Ireland Room
    Session 27: Wellbeing & burnout - Chairing

  • Wednesday 06 Dec; h09.15 - h10.30; Northern Ireland
    Session 38: Critical Care safety: making it happen - Chairing

Professor Stephen Brett is head for research for the Directorate of Anaesthetics and Critical Care within Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust, leading the Centre for Perioperative Medicine and Critical Care Research and Professor of Critical Care at Imperial College.  The Centre is developing a unique agenda of patient focused projects along the entirety of patient journey, be it in surgery or critical illness, and of course resuscitation; these projects range from epidemiology and public health, through clinical trials to evaluation of the impact of surgery on chronic diseases and of course technology evaluation. The Centre supports many Comprehensive Research Network portfolio studies and is supported through this and the Biomedical Research Centre Scheme.

Professor Brett's personal research interests are in understanding and optimizing long term outcomes after critical illness. He is chief investigator for a number of clinical studies both locally and nationally. He recently lead the NICE guidline development group which published the guideline "Rehabilitation after Critical Illness" (

Prof. Brett is President of the Intensive Care Society  and is an Editor of the journal Critical Care. In addition he serves on a number of Department of Health advisory groups, and provides consultancy to industry in the fields of clinical trial design and supervision, and marketing.




View More

Martin Balik

Daniela Shackcloth

Amit Patel

Maya Hites

Brendan McGrath

Ella Segaran

Adam Deane

Marcus Peck

Laura Vincent

Elisabeth de Waele

Kayvan Shokrollahi

James McNamee

Victoria Metaxa

Rob Parker

Steve Pereira

Hervé Quintard

Paul Murphy

Manu Shankar-Hari

Ashley Miller

Gavin Perkins

Bob Winter

Pascal Vranckx

Hugh Montgomery

Tim Astles

Gordon Rubenfeld

Alison Pittard

Ben Attwood

Matthew Morgan

Sanjeev Nayak

Terri Hough

Rob Bevan

Rupert Pearse

Simon Scott

Linda-Jayne (LJ) Mottram

Susanna Price

Chris Seymour

Mirae Harford

Ganesh Suntharalingham

Dorothy Wade

Ben Morton

Peter Brindley

Paul Young

Liesl Wandrag

Michelle Chew

Mark Wilcox

Kate Tatham

Rodolphe Gelin

Pascale Gruber

Marcela Vizcaychipi

Michelle Kho

Murali Shyamsudar

Peter Weijs

Tim Walsh

John Simpson

Jordan Abdi

Mervyn Singer

Chris Thorpe

Alan Ashworth

Jamie Strachan

Tamara Banerjee

Charlotte Summers

Rosie Baruah

Anna Batchelor

Derek Bell

Andrew Bentley

Sara Blakeley

Mark Blunt

Sally Bradberry

Danny Bryden

Marion Campbell

Carl Clement

Claire Colebourn

Bronwen Connolly

Eve Corner

Julie Darbyshire

Paul Dark

Gareth Davies

Kev Dhaliwal

Alison Dinning

Annemarie Docherty

Jonathan Downham

Jane Eddlsteon

Mark Edwards

Premila Fade

Sophie Farooque

Jill Francis

Nandan Gautam

Ben Gibbison

Mike Gillies

Mark Griffiths

Steve Harridge

Steve Harris

Dan Harvey

Marie Healy

Andy Higgs

Julie Highfield

David Highley

Tom Hurst

Matt Inada-Kim

Andy Johnston

Andrew Kinshuk

Chris Laing

Simon Laing

Jean-Baptiste Lascarrou

Natasha Lawrence

Fiona Lecky

Caroline Leech

Jackie McRae

Maryanne Mariyaselvam

Gary Masterson

Steve Mathieu