ICS Research Gold Medal

ICS Research Gold Medal


The Intensive Care Society wishes to promote and encourage the presentation of the best critical care science in the UK. With this in mind the ICS Research Gold Medal is awarded annually to a young investigator (nurse, AHP or doctor) who has shown excellence in science relevant to intensive care.

The researcher is usually someone who has completed a substantial body of work (e.g MD/PhD) and should not be in a Consultant / Senior Lecturer post or equivalent (although where the body of work was completed prior to recent appointment they will be considered).

The award process allows a number of finalists to achieve recognition through formal presentation at the ICS State of the Art meeting in front of their peers.

The award is open to members and non-members. A maximum of 5 abstracts will be shortlisted for the Gold medal oral presentation. Please submit your 500 abstract using the on line submission link. 


Past Winners of ICS Gold Medal

2018 - Tom Hellyer

2017 - Tom Craven

2016 - Rashan Haniffa

2015 - Simon Biddie

2014 - Nish Arulkumaran

2013 - Kenneth Baillie 

2012 - Nazir Lone

2011 - Brijesh Patel

2010 - Andy Conway Morris

2009 - Thelma Craig

2008 - Alex Dyson       

2007 - Lucinda Barrett

2006 - Philip Hopkins

2005 - Gavin Perkins

2004 - Meredith Allen