State of the Art 2019




Programme Committee
Bronwen Connolly is a Consultant Clinical Research Physiotherapist in Critical Care at Guy’s and St.Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust, and NIHR Postdoctoral Fellow investigating the development of a core outcome set for trials of physical rehabilitation in critical illness. Her research interests include physiological assessment of peripheral skeletal muscle architecture and function, the recovery, long-term outcome and survivorship of post critical illness patients and clinical trial methodology around complex rehabilitation interventions. In January 2019 she will commence an NIHR Clinical Trials Fellowship with the UK Intensive Care National Audit and Research Centre (ICNARC). She is involved with a number of major national and international critical care organisations including the NIHR Critical Care Specialty Group, the UK Critical Care Research Group, the International Forum for Acute Care Trialists and co-chairs an ATS Workshop on ‘Determining the Outcomes for Assessment After Critical Illness’.


Programme Director
Steve is a Consultant in Critical Care and Care Group Director for Critical Care, Anaesthesia and Theatres at Queen Alexandra Hospital, Portsmouth.He is the Honorary Treasurer for the Intensive Care Society and Programme Director for the State of the Art Conference. His interests include education, quality improvement and safety. He is a senior editor for The Bottom Line and developed and maintains the Portsmouth ICU website.
singer photo 2018


Programme Committee
Mervyn Singer is Professor of Intensive Care Medicine at University College London, an NIHR Senior Investigator, Editor-in-Chief of Intensive Care Medicine Experimental, and Treasurer of the International Sepsis Forum. He co-chaired the Sepsis-3 definitions task force and has written/co-edited several textbooks including the Oxford Textbook of Critical Care. His major research interests span mechanistic to clinical, focussing on sepsis, tissue oxygenation and mitochondrial dysfunction, monitoring and shock with funding from the MRC, Wellcome Trust, NIHR and EU among others. He previously developed an oesophageal Doppler haemodynamic monitor and currently has three other monitors and a new drug under development. He thrives on iconoclasm rooted within a sound scientific rationale (he hopes!) and takes masochistic pleasure in watching Spurs.
Charlotte-Summers-e1480270887537 2


Programme Committee
Charlotte graduated in both Biomedical Sciences and Medicine from the University of Southampton, and later undertook a PhD at the University of Cambridge investigating the role of inflammation on the pulmonary transit kinetics of human neutrophils, alongside specialist clinical training in Respiratory (East of England) and Intensive Care Medicine (London). She was subsequently appointed as the UK’s first NIHR Clinical Lecturer in Intensive Care Medicine, and went on to be awarded a Fulbright All-disciplines Scholar Award and a Wellcome Trust Fellowship for Postdoctoral Clinician Scientists. Charlotte joined the University of Cambridge School of Clinical Medicine in 2015 from University of California, San Francisco. She leads the Critical Care Biology group, within which her laboratory is based.


ICS President


Programme Committee



Programme Committee
Ella Terblanche (nee Segaran) is a critical care dietitian and currently the Trust Nutrition Lead at Royal Brompton & Harefield NHS foundation Trust, London. She is passionate about raising the profile of nutrition for critically ill patients and the role the dietitian plays. She has a substantial research background, and was a core member of the CALORIES trial team as investigator and NEJM co-author.She has lectured extensively on all aspects of critical care nutrition. Ella is actively involved representing dietitians at the Intensive Care Society and a key member of the State of the Art conference committee. 
She is also providing the dietetic perspective to the first ever ICS/FICM AHP Professional Development Framework. Ella was a co-founder and chair of the BDA critical care special group for 4 years and in June 2016 was awarded an IBEX award from the BDA for services to critical care dietetics.